BBC Radio 2

The nation's favourite

BBC Radio 2 branding

Listen: Online FM DAB

Facts and stats

BBC Radio 2 is the most listened-to radio station in the UK, and is one of the BBC's ten national radio stations.

Broadcasting specialist programming containing everything from show songs and comedy to classical music, it is the direct descendant of The Light Programme, and since 1996 has pursued a popular contemporary playlist during the day and attracted many presenters formerly heard on the BBC's younger station BBC Radio 1 - notably Chris Evans, Steve Wright, Sara Cox and Simon Mayo.

By most measures it is Europe's largest radio station, and broadcasts from Western House, a building situated alongside the BBC's Broadcasting House headquarters in central London. It was the first BBC domestic radio station to broadcast 24 hours a day.

Editorial area:
Weekly listening figures:
15,283,000 listenersRAJAR December 2014
30 September 1967
BBC logo
Members of:


Postal address:
Western House
99 Great Portland St


Online contacts

Official website

Social media

Twitter: Jobs
Follow BBC Radio 2 on Twitter
@BBCRecruitment (74,201 followers)
Follow BBC Radio 2 on Twitter
@BBCRadio2 (380,477 followers)
Twitter: Press Office
Follow BBC Radio 2 on Twitter
@bbcpress (96,916 followers)
Like BBC Radio 2 on Facebook
BBC Radio 2 (458,720 likes)
BBC-Radio-2-891 (1,600,000 followers)
bbcradio2 (200 followers)

Latest news stories


Alan Titchmarsh Presenter
Alan Dedicoat Presenter
Aled Jones Presenter
Alex Lester Presenter
Ben Stones Assistant Producer
Bob Shennan Programme Manager/Controller
Bob Harris Presenter
Brett Spencer Head of Digital
Brian Matthew Presenter
Chris Evans Presenter
Clare Balding Presenter
Claudia Winkleman Presenter
Dale Winton Presenter
David Rodigan Presenter
Davina McCall Presenter
Dermot O'Leary Presenter
Desmond Carrington Presenter
Elaine Paige Presenter
Helen Thomas Editor
Huey Morgan Presenter
James Carpenter Broadcast Assistant
Janey Lee Grace Presenter
Janice Long Presenter
Jeremy Vine Presenter
Jo Whiley Presenter
Johnnie Walker Presenter
Ken Bruce Presenter
Lewis Vickers Producer
Lynn Parsons Presenter
Malcolm Laycock Presenter
Mariella Frostrup Presenter
Mark Radcliffe Presenter
Michael Parkinson Presenter
Michael Tindale Broadcast Assistant
Mo Dutta Presenter
Nick Barraclough Presenter
Paul Jones Presenter
Paul Gambaccini Presenter
Roger Royle Presenter
Russell Davies Presenter
Sara Cox Presenter
Sarah Kennedy Presenter
Simon Mayo Presenter
Steve Wright Presenter
Stuart Maconie Presenter
Terry Wogan Presenter
Tony Blackburn Presenter
Vanessa Feltz Presenter
Wayne Marshall Presenter
Zoe Ball Presenter

...at BBC

Chris Roberts Project Engineer
Danny Cohen Director BBC Television
Fran Unsworth Director BBC World Service Group
Helen Boaden Director of BBC Radio
James Harding Director of News and Current Affairs
Tony Hall Director-General

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this radio station’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Martin P and James C for their edits on this page. Edit it yourself. See the changelog.