BBC News

The BBC News channel

BBC News branding

Watch BBC News on BBC iPlayer, Freesat and Freeview (UK)

Facts and stats

BBC News, also known as the BBC News channel is the BBC's 24-hour domestic rolling news television network for the United Kingdom.

The channel airs rolling news, topical debate, documentaries, interviews and sports bulletins.

The channel also simulcasts Breakfast from BBC One, Victoria Derbyshire from BBC Two, along with bulletins overnight from BBC World News. Outside Source (Mon-Thurs) and World News Today (Fri-Sun) will also be simulcast from BBC World News from June 2015.

Editorial area:
9 November 1997
BBC logo
Former names:
BBC News 24
Viewing figures:

Contact BBC News

Postal address:
BBC Broadcasting House
Official website
Main email
Personal email
Studio email

Social media

Twitter: Jobs
Follow BBC News on Twitter
@BBCRecruitment (83,303 followers)
Follow BBC News on Twitter
@BBCNews (4,793,102 followers)
Twitter: Press Office
Follow BBC News on Twitter
@bbcpress (105,365 followers)
Like BBC News on Facebook
BBC News Channel (3,279 likes)


Alex Homer Journalist
Alistair Burnett Senior News Editor
Annita McVeigh Presenter
Azi Farni Sports Presenter
Babita Sharma Presenter
Becky Kelly Producer
Ben Brown Head of Music
Ben Thompson Journalist
Bill Turnball Presenter
Bruce Douglas Journalist
Carol Kirkwood Presenter
Caroline Hepker Presenter
Carrie Gracie Presenter
Catrin Nye Journalist
Clive Myrie Presenter
Dan Johnson Journalist
Deborah Mackenzie Presenter
Emily Maitlis Presenter
Gary O'Donoghue Journalist
Gavin Esler Presenter
George Alagiah Presenter
Hugh Woozencroft Sports Presenter
Huw Edwards Presenter
Jane Hill Presenter
Jessica Creighton Sports Presenter
Jim Reed Journalist
Joanna Gosling Presenter
Jon Sopel Presenter
Julian Worricker Presenter
Kasia Madera Presenter
Kate Kinsella Weather forecaster
Laura Westbrook Journalist
Louise Minchin Presenter
Lucy Manning Special Correspondent
Mark Easton Journalist
Maryam Moshiri Journalist
Maxine Mawhinney Presenter
Mike Embley Presenter
Naga Munchetty Presenter
Nicholas Owen Presenter
Nick Higham Journalist
Nick Miller Presenter
Nicola Beckford Journalist
Rachel Schofield Presenter
Rachel Healey Producer
Rebecca Pike Journalist
Rebecca Jones Presenter
Rico Hizon Presenter
Robert Peston Journalist
Rory Cellan-Jones Journalist
Ros Atkins Presenter
Ross Hawkins Journalist
Sally Nugent Presenter
Sally Bundock Presenter
Sam Singh Journalist
Sam Taylor Programme Director
Sarah Stone Presenter
Sarah Campbell Journalist
Sean Johnson Journalist
Sharanjit Leyl Presenter
Sian Williams Presenter
Simon McCoy Presenter
Smitha Mundasad Journalist
Sonja Jessup Journalist
Sophie Raworth Presenter
Sophie Long Presenter
Steph McGovern Journalist
Tanya Beckett Presenter
Tim Willcox Presenter
Torin Douglas Journalist
Victoria Fritz Journalist
Victoria Derbyshire Presenter BBC

Chris Roberts Project Engineer
Danny Cohen Director BBC Television
Fran Unsworth Director BBC World Service Group
Helen Boaden Director of BBC Radio
James Harding Director of News and Current Affairs
Tony Hall Director-General

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this television channel’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

BBC News logo archive

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Martin P, Graeme M and James C for their edits on this page. Edit it yourself. See the changelog.