Absolute Radio

Where real music matters

Absolute Radio branding

Listen to Absolute Radio on AM, DAB, FM, Freesat, Freeview (UK), Virgin Media and online

Facts and stats

Absolute Radio was born on 7.45am on 29 September 2008. The station is based in Golden Square in London, and plays popular rock music. The station was originally known as Virgin Radio, owned by Virgin then Chris Evans's Ginger Media Group, followed by Scottish Media Group and the Times of India who rebranded it. It's now owned by Bauer Media.

Hampered by a poor quality national AM signal, the station embraced the possibilities afforded by new technology. It was the first station to stream online 24-hours a day in Europe, and the first with a mobile phone app.

Editorial area:
Most played songs:
Weekly listening figures:
1,989,000 listenersRAJAR March 2015
30 April 1993
Bauer Media Group logo
National sales:
Ofcom licences:
AL000173 (Analogue local)
AN000002 (Analogue national)
Former names:
Virgin 1215
Virgin 105.8
Virgin Radio

Contact Absolute Radio

Postal address:
No 1 Golden Square
Telephone - reception:
Telephone - studio:
Official website
Main email
Personal email
Studio email

Social media

Twitter: Jobs
Follow Absolute Radio on Twitter
@BauerMediaJobs (15,314 followers)
Follow Absolute Radio on Twitter
@absoluteradio (213,689 followers)
Twitter: Press Office
Follow Absolute Radio on Twitter
@onegoldensquare (2,261 followers)
Twitter: Sport
Follow Absolute Radio on Twitter
@RnRFootball (11,547 followers)
Like Absolute Radio on Facebook
Absolute Radio (150,118 likes)
Absolute-Radio-1058 (367,800 followers)
AbsoluteRadio (303 followers)
absoluteradio (312 followers)

Latest news stories

Mobile apps



Adam Belloni Producer
Adrian Hieatt Journalist
Adrian Fitch Assistant Manager
Aileen O'Sullivan Journalist
Alex Richardson Journalist
Andrew Bailey Head of News
Andy Bush Presenter
Annabel Port Presenter
Anthony Abbott Digital Editor
Brian Murphy Producer
Chris Martin Presenter
Chris Skinner Producer
Christian O'Connell Presenter
Dan Wright Head of Production
Danny Wallace Presenter
Eloise Carr Producer
Emily Dean Presenter
Faye Carruthers Sports journalist
Frank Skinner Presenter
Geoff Lloyd Presenter
George Godfrey Presenter
Ian Wright Presenter
James Curran Head of Music
Kevin Hingley Interactive Editor
Lee Price Head of Production
Leona Graham Presenter
Lisa Bayley Events Manager
Mark Crossley Presenter
Pete Donaldson Presenter
Pete Mitchell Presenter
Richie Firth Producer, Breakfast Show
Rob Beckett Presenter
Robbie Harrison Engineer
Russ Williams Presenter
Sarah Champion Presenter
Simon Kilby Sales Director
Steve Parkinson Managing Director
Tim Vernon Producer
Tony Moorey Programme Manager/Controller
Tracy Stanton Business Development
Vicki Blight Presenter
Vince Lynch Head of Creative Bauer Media Group

Akhil Suchak Head of Social
David Board Broadcast Engineer
Dee Ford Group Managing Director Radio
Graham Bryce Group Managing Director Bauer City Network
Jo Baldwin Digital Commercial Director
John Pickford Editor in Chief
Matthew Hobbs Chief Technology Officer
Owen Ryan Bauer City Network Group Content Director
Paul Keenan Chief Executive
Sam Jones Digital Managing Director

Absolute Radio logo archive

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Andrew G, Martin P, Martin W, Graeme M and James C for their edits on this page. Edit it yourself. See the changelog.