Hits Radio North East

The Biggest Hits, The Biggest Throwbacks
British radio stations

Listen to Hits Radio North East

You can hear Hits Radio North East on DAB Digital Radio, FM, Radioplayer UK and online

Facts and stats

Hits Radio is a local radio station for Tyneside, Wearside, Northumberland and northern County Durham.

Editorial areaTyneside, Wearside, Northumberland and County Durham
FormatTop 40
Most playedShaboozey, Dasha, Calvin Harris x Rag'n'Bone ManRadiomonitor
Launched15 July 1974
OwnerBauer Media Audio UK
National salesBauer Media Audio UK
Members ofRadiocentre
Former namesMetro FM
Metro Radio

Contact Hits Radio North East

Postal addressGainsborough House
34-40 Grey Street
Newcastle upon Tyne
+44 191 230 6100
+44 191 488 3188
Official website

Social media

Twitter@bauermedia (18,218 followers) compare
Twitter: Jobs@BauerMediaJobs (19,574 followers) compare

Latest news stories

South Durham mux launches with seven digital stations
RadioToday - published 4 August 2023, 7.43am edt
Metro Radio revenue is up by 5% on 2021 - published 24 January 2023, 3.15pm est
A Longtime Hot AC Brand Is Saved … By A Funeral Home
RBR/TVBR - published 14 October 2022, 11.10am edt
Nova Radio North East hires Christian Steel for weekly show
RadioToday - published 10 July 2022, 5.41pm edt
Night Owls to end on Greatest Hits Radio North East
RadioToday - published 4 April 2022, 9.33am edt


Chris Felton Producer
Karen Wight Presenter
Mark Cliffe Content Controller
Matt Crabb Presenter
Matthew Bromham Sales Director
Micky Welch Journalist
Ruth Aiken Journalist
Sharron Dennis Head of Production
Sophie Calvert Journalist
Steve Furnell Presenter
Tom Haynes Regional Content Director

…at Bauer Media Audio UK

Abby Carvosso Group MD, Advertising
Adam Newstead Senior Executive Producer, South England & Wales
Alex Baker Creative Strategy Director
Andy Ashton Content Director - Greatest Hits Radio
Anne-Marie Lavan Group Marketing Director
Cat Martin Director of Communications
Chris Ward Content Operations & Group Production Director
Frankie Bannerman Radio Account Manager
Gary Stein Group PD - Hits Radio Network
Graham Bryce Chief Operating Officer
James Walker Head Of Network Operations
Jo Baldwin Managing Director
John Pickford Editor in Chief
Kate Whitehorn Creative Strategy Director
Lucie Cave Chief Content Officer
Matt Garforth Product Manager
Matthew Hobbs Chief Technology Officer
Paul Keenan Chief Executive
Rob Munro-Hall Co-Lead of Publishing World-Wide
Sarah Barnes HR Director
Sarah Vickery Group Finance & Strategy Director
Steve Taylor Commercial Creative Director
Stuart McGinley Content Producer
Tony Moorey Group Content Director - Absolute Radio & Magic

Can you help update this entry?

Do you know this radio station’s mobile app details? Please add it to our directory.

Other information

Hits Radio North East logo archive

Can we help?

How can I listen to Hits Radio North East?

This is a user-edited website. Thank you to Dan W, Anthony P, Lucy M, Tomas McDermott (, Scott B, Matt B, David R, Matt W, Graeme M, Dom S, Martin P and James C for their edits on this page. See the changelog, or edit it yourself.